news


New Moon and Full Moon Days

New Moon and Full Moon Days are usually quiet days at this monastery. Typically this means residents and guests are free to structure the day as they find useful: formal meditation, reading, going for walks. Normally there are no group work projects nor the usual morning and evening chanting. Meal times are as usual.

Paritta Chanting

The sangha regularly recites the traditional ‘Blessing Chants’ each Sunday before the meal. All are welcome to join in.

Beginners’ Meditation Class

Usually on each first Sunday of the month instruction is given for those new to meditation. There is no need to book in advance and all teachings are freely given led by Dr. Adrian Bint. The class takes place in the Shrine room at Kusala House (Guest House) and is followed by Evening Puja with the monastic community in the Main Dhamma Hall for those who wish to participate.

Lake Work Day

One Saturday each month, from April through to December, is booked into our calendar for focusing on working down at the lake. It is a community project with resident monastic sangha, lay guests and visitors taking part. Usually it begins at 8.30 am with a break for the shared meal around 11am. Afternoon work goes from about 1pm to 4 pm, depending on weather and time of year. All welcome to participate. It is good to bring wellington boots and suitable clothing.

Silent Practice Weeks

Several periods throughout the year are dedicated to cultivating noble silence at the monastery. These times are set aside specifically to help us remember that the inner work is the priority. It does not mean absolutely nobody will speak whatever the circumstance, though we do hope visitors will tune into the spirit of our commitment and support the silence.

calendar


See here for full calendar
Mon, 22 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Tue, 23 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Wed, 24 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Thu, 25 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Fri, 26 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Sat, 27 Jul
Monastic Residents on Retreat
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 28 Jul
Waning Moon
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Sat, 03 Aug
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 04 Aug
New Moon
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:30Meditation Class @ Kusala House
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Sat, 10 Aug
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 11 Aug
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Mon, 12 Aug
Waxing Moon
Sat, 17 Aug
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 18 Aug
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Mon, 19 Aug
Full Moon
Sat, 24 Aug
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 25 Aug
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Mon, 26 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Tue, 27 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Waning Moon
Wed, 28 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Thu, 29 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Fri, 30 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Sat, 31 Aug
Monastic Residents on Retreat
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 01 Sep
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
17:30Meditation Class @ Kusala House
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Mon, 02 Sep
New Moon
Sat, 07 Sep
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 08 Sep
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Tue, 10 Sep
Waxing Moon
Sat, 14 Sep
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 15 Sep
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Tue, 17 Sep
Full Moon
Sat, 21 Sep
One Day Retreat with Aj. Ahimsako
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 22 Sep
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Wed, 25 Sep
Waning Moon
Sat, 28 Sep
Lake work day
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 29 Sep
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Mon, 30 Sep
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Tue, 01 Oct
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Wed, 02 Oct
Monastic Residents on Retreat
New Moon
Thu, 03 Oct
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Fri, 04 Oct
Monastic Residents on Retreat
Sat, 05 Oct
Monastic Residents on Retreat
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 06 Oct
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
17:30Meditation Class @ Kusala House
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Thu, 10 Oct
Waxing Moon
Sat, 12 Oct
19:00Public Puja
Sun, 13 Oct
11:15PARITTA CHANTING - Reception Room (public)
17:00Tea with a monk at Kusala House (public)
19:00Public Puja
19:00Public Puja - talk by Luang Por Munindo
Thu, 17 Oct
Full Moon
Pavāraṇā Day
Last day of Vassa
Sat, 19 Oct
19:00Public Puja